My Prediction…..

 

pain

So last night I tried to do something different and took part in a Prediction Mile hosted by Fleet Feet and Mizuno. The idea behind the run is to guess how fast you will run the mile and then run without using a watch or any other kind of timing device. My goal wasn’t to run an all-out mile, but to try something fun and make it part of a workout. 

My recent races have shown that I’m having trouble with pacing and running blind a little more often could help me to focus on effort and feel a little more. There was a pretty big turnout so we were put in 3 different waves. Running after work is always a bit of a crap shoot, so I took a conservative guess and predicted 6:18 for my time. 

The mile went well. I found a pretty comfortable rhythm after the first lap and after the 3rd lap, I sensed I was running faster than 6:18. End result was a 6:08 mile and my 10 second difference put me just outside the top 10.

 Mizuno-Wave-Sayonara 2

Another perk of the event was the opportunity to test out the Mizuno Wave Sayonara 2. The show is pretty comfortable and a good bit lighter than the Wave Rider. Might have to look at investing in a pair for workouts/races as they felt real good.

Thanks to Mizuno and Fleet Feet for putting on a different and fun event.

 

Leave a Reply

